Blade Runner 2049

Wow. I loved this movie, however I don’t think the average movie goer will like it. Here are the bad points, and then I’ll finish the blog with why I loved this movie.

Unknown.jpeg

First, the average movie goer will think this film is too long. (2hrs 44 minutes) In the movie “Amadeus” Mozart’s critics said his opera was too long, they encouraged him to simply “cut a few notes”. So when people say “it’s too long” my thoughts are you can’t ask Mozart to shorten his opera and Blade Runner is director Ridley Scotts masterpiece. You can’t watch this as a regular action, suspense thriller movie (though it is) you have to watch it as a piece of art.

“It moves too slow” In a way that’s the same as saying it’s too long. There is action and explosions and everything teenage viewers will like but Ridley Scott isn’t trying to do same ol’ same ol’ cookie cutter action movies and to add to the difficulty this is a sequel to the original Blade Runner so that adds a level of complication.

“It’s too complicated, it’s hard to follow” Yes, I’d agree. However I love movies that are so deep it takes a few viewings to catch everything. Like Beethoven or Shostakovich, every time I listen to one of their symphony, even though I’ve heard them before I hear something new! But I agree and would encourage everyone, do not go to see this movie until you’ve watched the original 1982 Blade Runner or 2049 will not make any sense!!

SO here are the things I loved. In musical terms, this symphony is in a minor key. It’s dark. The sets and backgrounds are amazing. In true Ridley Scott form the air is thick. In Gladiator (my favorite Ridley Scott film) the opening scene is full of snow and smoke, and ash swirling in the wind, Kingdom of heaven, snow & rain and dessert dust etc. In 2049 the rain and snow in futuristic Los Angeles sets a daUnknown-1.jpegrk and depressing mood. This film is in my opinion a tragic drama, more than an action thriller. The look stays true to the original 1982 and takes it a step further, like Las Vegas swarming with bees and dust and radiation. Like most Ridley Scott films its hard to take a deep breath!

The music, yes! Loved it. True to 1982 with sweeping dark synthesizers echoing long sustained agonizing chords over dissonance and then very Mozart like a single sustained note high above the rest, or a single note pings in the quiet, sustaining into the next scene. Vangelis of Chariots of Fire fame did the original 1982 music and Hans Zimmer one of my all time favorites (Pirates of the Caribbean, The Lion King, Gladiator, Interstellar, Inception on and on . . .) stays true to the original 1982 Vangelis and takes it even further. Bravo, Bravissimo!!

Harrison Ford is great, and Ryan Gosling is superb. Even Princess Buttercup does a great job. But the best part of the movie is the twist. If a movie can fool me then I love it!!

This is a must see (after first watching the original) in the theatre as a small screen will not do it justice. Mr. Scott, I am a fan.

“Are you not entertained!” –  Maximus Decimus Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next. -played by Russel Crow in Gladiator

Leave a comment